Faculty development encompasses all activities related to the induction, training and further development of faculty members so as to optimize their effectiveness as teachers, trainers and leaders in education. While most teachers in medical education accomplish the task of teaching by emulating their seniors, and by trial and error, the need for systematic faculty development Programmes (FDP) is well established. Faculty development is considered an essential tool to cope with new teaching tasks and is a means for participants to build important career relationships with peers, mentors and academicians who contribute to academic advancement. Faculty development in India began with the establishment of the first National Teacher Training Centre (NTTC) at Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education and Research (JIPMER), Pondicherry in 1976. In 1997, the Medical Council of India (MCI) recommended the establishment of medical education units (MEU) in each medical college.

Further, the requirement of MEU was included in the minimum standard requirements of an annual intake of 100 students in a medical college. The MEUs are expected to organize FDPs, carry out research in medical education and promote continuing medical education (CME) programmes besides other activities. The need to have an active MEU in the institute cannot be overstated. It can act as a unit that would sensitize the teaching staff, provide training and support for the betterment of medical education in the institute. The advantages are manifold. The teachers would feel better equipped with teaching skills. The students would become better doctors. This would translate into better health services and increase in the prestige of the institute.

Objectives and responsibilities

  • Faculty development by holding Seminars/Workshops/Conferences/CME
  • Curriculum development (UG & PG) as per latest MCI guidelines.
  • Updating & implementation of latest MCI guidelines for UG/PG examination.
  • Co ordinate & facilitate all MCI activities.
  • Supervise/coordinate overall educational & research development of the Institute.

Medical Education Unit

Officer- in-charge : Dean/Principal/Vice-chancellor

Coordinator : Professor/ Associate Professor (same coordinator to continue for a minimum of three years and any change to be intimated to Academic Cell of MCI), should have undergone MCI Orientation workshop and MCI Basic Course Workshop in MET at the allocated Nodal/Regional Centre and Advance Course in Medical Education at the allocated Nodal Centre, or any other additional qualification like M. Med, MHPE, Diploma in Medical Education, FAIMER Fellowship, or IFME, within such prescribed period as decided by the MCI from time to time.

MEU faculty : Minimum 8 core faculty including all cadres of faculty with the following qualifications:

  • Have undergone MCI Basic/Revised Basic Course in MET at the allocated Nodal / Regional Centre, or in the medical college under MCI observership.
  • At least 4 (50%) should have received additional educational qualification or training: eg. MCI Advance Course in ME at MCI Nodal Centre, or any other additional qualification like M. Med, MHPE, Diploma in Medical Education, FAIMER Fellowship or IFME, within such prescribed period as decided by the MCI from time to time.

Supportive Staff

As per minimum standard Requirements notified from time to time journal. MEU/college library should have books on medical education (10 nos) and should have access (print or web) to at least two of the following Journals:

  • Medical Teacher
  • Medical Education
  • Academic Medicine
  • Clinical Teacher
  • BMC medical Education
S.No Name Designation Position
1. Dr. Dhivya Sethuraman Professor, Department of OBG Coordinator
2. Dr. D. Ravichandran Professor, Department of Anatomy Member
3. Dr. S. Thamilarasi Professor, Department of Pharmacology Member
4. Dr. G. Vazhavandal Professor, Department of Microbiology Member
5. Dr. K. Rajesh Professor, Department of ENT Member
6. Dr. K. Rekha Associate Professor, Department of Physiology Member
7. Dr. M. Rasheed Khan Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry Member
8. Dr. Jeevaraj Giridharan Associate Professor, Department of Pathology Member
9. Dr. S. Pradeepa Associate Professor, Department of Community Medicine Member
10. Dr. R. Rajalakshmi Associate Professor, Department of Dermatology Member
11. Dr. T. M. Moonisha Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry Member

Nodal Centres

S.No Course Details Place
1 For Revised Basic Course Workshop (RBCW), Sensitisation workshop for AETCOM and Curriculum Implementation and Support Program (CISP) since 2015 JIPMER, Pudhucherry
2 For Advanced Course in Medical Education CMC Vellore

Faculties of Medical Education Unit

Course Details Number of Faculty
Faculty members who have undergone Advanced Course in Medical Education (CMC Vellore) 3
Number of Faculty members who have undergone Revised Basic Course in Medical Education Technologies and AETCOM Workshop at the nodal centre (JIPMER)4